top of page
Search

COLOR IN FALL

Meredith Bruening


This summer was all about color! I mean maybe it was just me, but I seemed to notice that no one could get enough of the beautiful bright hues that retailers knew we would love. I especially enjoyed the oranges, greens, and pinks that I felt were abundant in stores, on Instagram, and in Tik Tok videos. As fall is right around the corner, I always feel the need to pack away my colorful clothing and bring out my neutrals for the “dull” season ahead. But I’m here to tell you that’s not the case in fall 2021.


In this post I will be updating y’all on predicted COLORS you can expect to become popular/continue into this fall season, along with ways to incorporate them into your closet with current trends. As I am touching on trends and not necessarily classics, I respectfully suggest you identify which colors match your personal style, and then be mindful of where you are purchasing from!!


Hear me out…. PINK


When is pink not a good idea?? But more specifically, fuchsia! I was so excited to see this color expected for fall fashion in 2021. For me personally, I have made sure to have a few staple pink and fuchsia items in my closet since I witnessed the glorious Lizzo in Vogue magazine last fall. Since then, I made special note of two other icons sporting this amazing color, Carrie Bradshaw (Sarah Jessica Parker) and Harry Styles (Las Vegas HSLOT). It can also be found on many Fall 2021 Ready-to-Wear runways. A few examples are Saint Laurent, Sacai, and Kenzo.




On a college student’s budget, the best way I have found to incorporate this bold hue into my wardrobe is with a statement jacket or sweater and a neutral or black underneath. I suggest checking out stores such as Target, Macy’s, Thredup, or local thrift stores.


Indigo/cobalt blue!!!


Okay okay okay, you might be skeptical of this one for fall. But take a look at Demi Lovato’s amazing blue velvet pantsuit during the iHeartRadio Music Awards 2021. Their minimal accessories let the pantsuit be the star of the show. A few months later, we are gifted with another version of this. Timmothy Chalamet wore a denim Tom Ford tuxedo with a pop of indigo on the satin lapels for the Dune Paris premiere. We also saw this beautiful cobalt hue worn by Bella Hadid for the opening look for Off-White in its Fall 2021 Ready-to-Wear collection.




A great way to add some indigo and cobalt blue to your closet for the fall is with a pair of boots that can help elevate any outfit, or a LBD (little blue dress) that you can add layers to as the weather gets cooler. I found some great options at Nordstrom, Depop, and Zara.




A classic: RED

A classic primary color that elevates any wardrobe, RED!! I have yet to believe that red can’t be incorporated into someone’s style. We have seen it all over red carpets and at the Met Gala this year. Amanda Seyfried wore a beautiful Armani gown at the 93rd annual Oscars. Megan Fox wore a stunning red long-sleeve Dundas gown at the 2021. Red hues were all over Fall Ready-to-Wear collections. It was even Look 1 of Sacai’s runway show which also included the pink and blue hues I had mentioned above. Alexander McQueen and Saint Laurent also made sure to include red in their collections as well.




My favorite way to wear red in the fall is through accessories. I love styling a red purse with my outfits, as the pop of color always stands out. I would also be thrilled to see some red boots around campus this fall, as that is an item I have yet to add to my personal closet. I recommend checking out DSW, Target, or if you're willing to spend a bit more, Kate Spade.



HONORABLE MENTIONS!!


To avoid making this blog post incredibly long, I suggest you also check out army green and clay/oranges to add to your wardrobe!


Sources:




26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • instagram

©2024 by Student Merchandising Association. 

bottom of page